Kindle contemplations

I’m getting a Kindle! Hooray!

The only problem is that I need to decide which one. And to buy it. It’s a present from my mum, after she successfully scooped my friend Benji and gave me precious Euros for one.

I have looked up comparison charts and here’s one of the simple ones:

Amazon offers the second and the third but the ones that are listed as US only can apparently be ordered from there anyway.

Personally I like the fourth one, Kindle Touch, the most, I like the idea of a keyboard because I want to be able to take notes (I probably won’t but I’d like to have the option) and a physical keyboard seems to be a thing of the past. (Yes, I now have an iPhone and I actively despise Blackberries, I think they are the shame of modern phoneworld and should really be downgraded not to the category ‘phones’ but to ‘stupidphones’. They have had the audacity to take one of my favourite berries as their patron and made me boycott them in my cheesecakes. They should be dipped in tar and rolled over in feathers. They make me angry!)

Anyway. Physical keyboard (the waste of space that could be used by the screen) however small its Kindle ratio to the screen is (as opposed to Blackberry ratio) is rubbing me the wrong way. The touch screen one is what I would prefer and the price is also more acceptable, however I think I can expect a steeper delivery fee.
The thing that concerns me, and this is only because I have never used one before, is that I don’t know how much the americanisation will show on a Kindle. Will it be in imperial? In Fahrenheit? A Kindle is not an iPhone and I don’t suppose there are actual apps that would operate with these units. But should there be anything like that, it would annoy me no end. American movies are set to a different region to the European ones. I guess this is also not something a Kindle owner should concern himself with but what if there’s another such technological atrocity that I am missing or that I don’t know about???

Am I just being stupidly OCD? Any feedback welcome…

Leave a Reply

