The QR…

I am now a self-employed architect / artist in the cruel world of recession, I have finally registered with the HM Revenue Office and am waiting for them to get back to me with a cool taxpayer’s number.

As such I need a cool way of advertising my stuff and I was thinking of ordering a stamp with a logo of my very own. Originally I wanted a stamp for things that I have crafted myself but then a friend Benji gave me a lightbulb and I decided to make it a more global one.
We then spent a day researching QR codes and photoshopping my kitten Whiski into one.

The result:

Why do I think this is absolutely amazing?
Today everyone (but me) walks around with smartphones. If QR codes are not that omnipresent yet it’s only a matter of time. Already most people can read them if they know that that’s what they are supposed to do.
The code itself is very generic. Without a reader, its just a bunch of black and white pixels, four + squares and nothing else but I find the design very attractive. Achromatic, random but not random at all. It can go unnoticed or stand out depending on how you use it.
With the reader it turns into a very unique code that stores specific information. It can lead you to a website, provide contact information, events, texts, etc.

You might wonder why a kitten would be a good logo for an architect, well, it’s not… but unless you know Whiski in person, the picture is just a generic cat… Kat McNabb maybe?
I don’t have a good enough justification but I think it secretly adds a personal touch to an otherwise unspecific barcode. Something to identify it by even without a reader, if you know where to look…

Now I think I need to create one with more information, one I will be perfectly happy using years from now…

Maybe like this one:

 

Leave a Reply

